Embracing the Weird Twists of Improvisation

by theschan4

Improvisation can take bizzare paths. I remember in class that during the word-by-word story, we ended up with something like “Julie’s eyebrows were falling”. This is a rather gross scene if you envision it. I thought the strange result of this game was simply a one-time occurrence, but then I read the passage about the improvised end of the Hansel and Gretel story, in which the children became cannibals and ate the witch, then the hunters that wandered into the forest. These two impressions lead me to believe that bizzare-ness, in improvisation, is rather commonplace. On that note, I should learn to get over any trauma I may logically feel about the scene, and instead embrace and run with the most unexpected twists, whether they be gruesome or not.

Sarah