TTSS

by kavakristin

I saw Tinker Tailor Solider Spy this past Friday night and I really enjoyed it. It is kind of the opposite of improv, I know – every single scene, expression, and word had to be carefully planned. First this story was condensed from a le Carre novel to a six hour BBC miniseries and then down to a two hour film. Some thought it was over ambitious and confusing (ahem Saif :), but it really appealed to me. I love stories and movies where the observant reader/viewer is rewarded. Every single detail had meaning, and if you look away for a minute, you’ll miss something important. I think that improv can be as detailed and complex as TTSS. There’s a reason for every action, intended or not. The funniest and most meaningful things can be in the smallest look, image or movement. I love to see what people say and do on a daily basis. Sometimes it can be a bit sensory overload, but I love observing, which is why I loved the movie. I am curious and to see what this class will bring!