Michael Scarn, FBI

by kavakristin

Every time I think about improv lately, I think about Steve Carrel’s character, Michael Scott, in the tv show The Office, and why his character is so bad at improv (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uY6zTFnNS-A). Today, and on the first day of class, the instructors posted the four points/tenants of improv: 1. Listen, 2. Say yes, 3. Make my partner look good, and 4. Embrace my inner spontaneity. Michael manages to fail extraordinarily at all four. He does not listen to his fellow improv-ers and constantly relies on them always saying “yes” to his incessant  secret-agent gun shooting sprees. Because of this, no one in his group wants to act with him. He provides the perfect example of how not to improv, and yet in doing so, is provides a pretty hilarious clip.

I’m very happy to say that my improv experience has been much more fun than Michael’s poor classmates, and I think this will be a great quarter of listening, making our classmates look good, embracing our inner spontaneity, and, most importantly, saying yes.