Applying Improvisation to Real Life

by jloftus1189

Just want to start off by saying I missed you guys last week! I was feeling pretty ill and had to miss out on my dose of improvisation for the week. Totally looking forward to getting back on track tonight!

When I initially signed up for this class, I thought I would be able to apply the things I learned directly to my everyday life, and that’s what has happened. The most important thing I’ve learned from this class is how to respond to a situation when it doesn’t go as planned. I have become much more adept at recognizing that the situation is not meeting my expectations, not dwelling on this, and thinking on my feet to adapt to the new unexpected situation.

I tended to try to predict how a conversation would go even before having it with someone, and sometimes I was right about how it would go. In this situation, I would have pre-practiced lines that I would use and the conversation would move along rather smoothly. Many times though, the conversation would take an unexpected turn, and I would be left speechless, partly because I was bewildered that it did not go according to my prediction, but also because I did not have any of my pre-conceived statements to fall back on. This bad habit of mine would often get in the way of me having a good time at parties or other social get togethers.

Obviously, this was quite the bad habit, and it kept me from fully enjoying the spontaneous aspect of life. It halted my creativity in conversation, and honestly probably made me look like a boring individual to talk to. The exercises we have been doing in class that force you to change your perspective on a seconds’ notice and develop a new train of thought have done wonders for me outside of the classroom. I now find myself talking to people I’ve never met before about pretty much anything under the sun.

Not that I wasn’t able to do this before, but now it’s a much easier task.